RFTS Day 7 – my own little Badwater


I’m… (pant)… soooo…(pant)… toast!!! It’s „only“ about 25°C but it’s a killer! The sun came out and meant business. Summer came overnight with a sledgehammer. I don’t remember feeling that miserable on a long run. My body needs a few days to get adapted to the heat. Last week, we had around 10°C during the day. 15°C was considered warm, 18°C close to a furnace. And now: BAMM!

I left at 9 am thinking it would still be ok in the morning. I had planned to go mostly through the woods to be in the shade. I was wearing my white running cap, a t-shirt, a short tight and a backpack with a hydropack filled with a good liter of water.  I put some salt in it for the electrolytes because I thought, there might be some sweating involved. After about 3 km I realized, that my backpack that I bought in autumn and that I wore mostly with long sleeve and turtleneck shirts was chaffing. I fumbled with everything I could adjust but I couldn’t really solve the problem. I had to keep my buff around the neck which provided some – but not nearly enough – protection.

As I said, I had planned to go a lot through the woods. But the sun was positioned at such an angle that the trails were mostly exposed to direct sunlight. And there was still a lot of open space in between woods with some nice uphill.

2014-06-07 09.54.47

Sometimes there was a slight and very welcome breeze, but it stayed very humid, and I think that’s why the sweat didn’t provide enough cooling for me to feel comfortable.

Some nice people have recently installed a bench and a table in the middle of the fields which would have looked quite inviting, hadn’t it been placed in the sun. O yeah, and I forgot to bring the picnic and the cool beer along.

2014-06-07 10.00.59

It was surrounded by talking trees.

2014-06-07 10.01.26

„I am a cherry tree, tree of the year 2009, planted by the garden-association of Gunningen, april 2009.“

2014-06-07 10.01.17

„I am an apple tree (I guess so, because I don’t really know what it is, it has a very special name, but it looks a lot like an apple tree.), tree of the year 2010, planted by the garden-association in 2010.

I was feeling more and more cooked and I hoped that I would find a water-source of some kind in the village. There has to be a public fountain somewhere, but apparently, they keep it well hidden. I still had enough (warm) drinking-water in my hydropack but I was looking for a place to cool down. By the way… it was all uphill through the village. I finally discovered a rainwater-tank in a garden that had been placed close to the fence, so that I could reach over and soak my cap and slam it back on my head, dripping wet. That felt so good! At least for about 3 minutes when it had warmed up again. I was a little past the halfway-point in my run and there was going to be some forest with real shade this time. Still a lot uphill. I was so glad to finally see the downhill stretch which was much too short for me but very welcome none the less.

I was looking forward to seeing the beavers, but they stayed invisible. I’d love to meet one of those furry sawmills one day. Anyway, I soaked my cap in their muddy pond, thinking „What the hell, as long as I don’t drink it, I’ll be fine.“ I was thinking about Badwater a lot… I don’t think I will ever do this, but I read so much about it, and I dreamed of a crew, handing me ice or wet towels or anything to cool me down.

The last 3 km were really hard. Though there was a lot of downhill and some shade at the end, my neck really hurt from the chaffing and I felt a bit nauseous. I constantly looked at my heart-rate, making sure that I was alright. That was ok, but the heat was getting to me. I even sneaked into the cemetery to soak my cap again with tap-water, hoping that the dead wouldn’t mind too much.

When I came home, I was drenched in sweat. Actually, the only part of me and my clothes that was still dry were my socks. Could be that the Hokas provide some great climate-control or there was simply not enough sweat left for my feet. I didn’t run bare feet this time. The tarmac was too warm and I wanted to give my soles a rest for a day or two.

So, that’s another 16,17 km for today, and a total of 45,64 km for the month of June so far. Tomorrow will be a short distance only, but I’ll try to leave early (around 7 or 8 am) to avoid the worst of the heat.

BUT I’M REALLY GLAD, SUMMER’S FINALLY ARRIVED, PLEASE, DON’T GO AWAY, JUST GIVE ME A FEW DAYS TO ADAPT, THANK YOU!

 

Ein Kommentar zu “RFTS Day 7 – my own little Badwater

  1. Super gemacht, so einen langen Lauf bei dieser Hitze! War ja auch unterwegs und kann es Dir nachfühlen! Leider hatte ich keine Kappen-Wässern-Möglichkeiten unterwegs, hätte ich auch gern genutzt. Aber mal einen Stop am Friedhof dafür einzulegen, das ist eine prima Idee, muss ich mir merken!
    Keep on running!
    Liebe Grüße
    Elke

Kommentar verfassen

