RFTS Day 14 and 15 – halfway through!


I couldn’t write a thing yesterday, cause we were not at home the whole day, and when we got back, I was way too tired to do anything else but falling into bed and into a comatose sleep.

But I’m back with 2,75 km for yesterday’s run and 16,42 km for today. So that’s a total of 93,54 km for the month of June so far. That’s sooooo cool!

Yesterday I started at 5:30 to get my run in before we had to leave. I think, I mentioned before, that I’m not a morning person, but I like it a lot to be out there early. But something has to force me to get up. Otherwise, I’d never do it. It was a short and uneventful run, but I enjoyed the scenery.

2014-06-14 05.49.09 2014-06-14 05.51.30

Today was a challenge as I had to run a part of my training-program with a local running club. Don’t get me wrong! Those are really nice people, but I’m simply no group-runner. It stresses me out. I like to be on my own, following my own stride, my own speed and my own thoughts. Maybe it’s because I’m always surrounded by hundreds of people at work. But another thing is, that I’d hate to be the slowest runner, forcing the group to slow down. The last time I tried this kind of thing, I had to leave in the middle of the run, crying. I know, that sounds silly, but I just couldn’t do it. Even though they didn’t go out that fast, my heart-rate was redlining all the time, simply because I was under so much pressure that I couldn’t take it.

Anyway, today I knew what was coming, so I decided that I simply wouldn’t look at my heart-rate, that I would be able to maintain this uncomfortable pace for 6-8 km, and that I would survive.

I can’t say, I enjoyed it, but I could do it. That’s already something, isn’t it?

Why did I do it? Well, I’m going to be part of a marathon-relay at the end of the month, and the club’s coach decided, that everybody who wanted to be in, had to be there today to organize things. So I ran about 6 km on my own to the meeting-point, then another 7 km with the group, and about 3 km back home.

The people were really nice, we chatted a bit, another thing that I don’t do too often during my runs, although I admit, that I sometimes talk to myself. Or my shoes. 😉

But I was glad to be on my own again when I slouched back. It wasn’t too much of a run any more because I was toast and I wanted to get my heart-rate down what I didn’t really manage.

When I got home I was incredibly tired and I slept almost the whole afternoon. But on the plus-side: I could eat more than usual today, and there will be strawberries and a movie later.

I’m looking forward for my lonely little run tomorrow!

The weather was great! Simply great! The sun was out but no heat or humidity, there was a nice cool wind and I think it was about 18 or 19°C. Perfect for a run.

2014-06-15 10.46.36

 

 

3 Kommentare zu “RFTS Day 14 and 15 – halfway through!

Kommentar verfassen

