RFTS Day 17 already!


11,39 very slow km for today. I can’t believe it’s already day 17! Running every day is much easier than I thought. It’s fun. Ok, I’m not working at the moment, so I have a lot more time than usual. Next week is going to be interesting. But at the moment, I try not to think too much about it and just enjoy the here and now.

I forced myself to go painfully slow and I managed to get an average heart-rate of 138 bpm. But going 9:00 min/km is not really much fun. We’ll see how it all works out.

The weather wasn’t that great. No rain, but a strong somewhat chilly wind mixing with sun and no wind at all, so I didn’t really know what to wear. Turned out that a light long-sleeve shirt with a wind-stopper vest and a short tight was nearly the right thing. At the beginning of my run, I did some technique-exercises. But I’m not so sure whether they are really much good. I do them anyway. Then I did four – I think they are called „striders“. You know, it’s when you pick a stretch of about 100m, starting slow and going all out at the end. I like doing these. It feels almost like flying at the end. I could never maintain that speed for longer than a few seconds, but it’s fun.

It’s really cool that I’m able to run this far now in close to minimal shoes without any problems. I wore my Brooks Pure Cadence 2 that are really comfortable.

The only thing that I don’t like too much about my 10 km loop is that it’s almost tarmac only. I prefer the woods, but – as they say – you can’t have everything at once. Who are „they“ anyway?

But it’s a beautiful course with lots of fields and meadows.

2014-06-17 12.06.33 2014-06-17 12.23.38 2014-06-17 12.08.26

It took for ages because of the slow pace and for the last 2 km I felt like lying down in the grass. I was incredibly tired all of a sudden and hungry. That was a strange experience, because usually I feel pumped while being out there running. And I always take a sports-drink with me that usually provides enough energy so that I don’t get hungry.

All that sounds a bit negative, I know. It’s because I’m frustrated having to go so slowly. But on the plus side: I was out there much longer, enjoying the scenery and the fresh air. I’ll get over it. Tomorrow’s fartlek-day. I think I’m going to do it on the track. But I’m not sure yet.

 

7 Kommentare zu “RFTS Day 17 already!

  1. Schon Tag 17 – bewundernswert wie du das so durchhältst! (Immer noch mit der Nummer unterwegs?)
    Und nicht dass ich irgendeine Ahnung hätte, aber ich laufe immer nach gefühlter Anstrengung – nie nach Puls (auch weil ich bisher noch kein Brustband finden konnte, dass irgendwie glaubhafte Werte über mehr als 10 Minuten ausspuckt.) Vielleicht wäre das ja die bessere Lösung?
    Ansonsten herzliche Grüsse! Mir gefällt dein Blog und ich hoffe du schreibst bald wieder auf Deutsch, das liest sich amüsanter ;).

    • Willkommen auf meinem Blog!
      Danke für das Kompliment. Das Durchhalten ist leichter, als ich dachte. Ich glaube, das Schreiben motiviert mich auch, und die netten Kommentare. 🙂
      Ich laufe eigentlich gerne nach Puls, weil ich da meine Fortschritte besser sehen kann. Ich bin ein Daten-Freak. Keine Angst, nach dem RFTS schreib ich wieder Deutsch. Aber für die anderen Teilnehmer ist es so wahrscheinlich spannender.

      • Haha… ja ich erinnere mich auch, als ich beim Laufen mal von einer Walkerin überholt wurde. Aber Oma mit Rollator ist natürlich noch besser.

  2. Ich schließe mich Blumenmond an. Langsam laufen bringt positive Trainingseffekte in Sachen Ausdauer. Und jemand, der täglich läuft, braucht die natürlich! Dafür kannst Du Dich ja dann bei schnelleren Einheiten wieder austoben 🙂
    Liebe Grüße
    Elke

Kommentar verfassen

