RFTS Day 19 – not quite awake


As I had choir-duties to fulfill this morning, I decided to go for a short run early before breakfast.

I’m not sure whether 1 km of veeeeeryyy sloooooow waaaaalking at the procession for the Feast of Corpus Christi counts as well. It was an ordeal. The marching band played two songs in an endless loop and as usual, we got cooked by the sun. I have this choir for 13 years now, and there has never been a year with bad weather. It’s always hot, it’s always the same songs from the marching band, and it’s always painfully slow.

Ok, back to my morning-run:

I got the usual 2,74 km in, but I don’t remember much. I was still half asleep. Which was proven also by the fact that I stopped my watch to take a photo and forgot to start it again. Fortunately, I know how long this course is.

2014-06-19 07.46.29

As the owner was nowhere to be seen, I decided to take a picture of the bee-keeper’s shack. It fascinates me because of the organic way it changes every year. There is an original building somewhere in the middle of it all, but the owner seems to use everything he can find and remotely use to build a house. I would like to have a closer look some day, but it’s surrounded by high hedges and the bees make great watch dogs.

It’s very dry at the moment. Although I enjoy the nice weather a lot, it’s time for some rain to come. I have to water the garden every evening and the danger of fire in the forest is increased.

There is still a little water left, of course, but usually, it’s a lot more.

2014-06-19 07.47.22

Even though I’m a little sleepy today, I’m still having fun with the Run for the Sun. Someone asked me, whether I would be able to stop at the end of June. Honestly, I’d love to keep the streak going, but I have to be realistic about it. I don’t want to put myself under too much pressure. It’s easy at the moment, but next week, there will be a lot going on and it will get harder to get the runs in and the blogging, too. In July, I’m going to spend a week with students, doing a lot of outdoor activities, but I can’t just leave them on their own and go for a run. This is 24 hour duty for 5 days.

I think, if it became and all-year obligation, it would put the fun out of it. But what I’m surely going to do, is to get a run in, whenever I feel like it. Even if it’s not on the training-schedule and even if it’s only a short one.

I was always very careful with my rest-days, but now I see, that I don’t really need that many. Of course, it would be stupid to go out for speed-work every day or doing a lot of miles without backing off a bit in between. I know, that there are some people out there who can do this, but I’m not one of them, because there are a lot more things in my life than running. One of them is sitting on my desk now, trying to write it’s own blog. I’m talking about one of our three cats. And there’s music, and the garden, and family and so on… oh, yeah, and work.

But right at the moment, I feel like June could go on forever.

2 Kommentare zu “RFTS Day 19 – not quite awake

  1. Ja das kenne ich auch, man würde zwar gern wollen, aber es gibt da so gewisse Zwänge und Notwendigkeiten und der Tag hat nur 24 Stunden… Aber ich denke, der durchgelaufene Monat tut doch einiges für die Laufmotivation und für die Seele auch… 😉
    Liebe Grüße
    Elke

    • Auf jeden Fall! Und es hat einen riesigen Trainingseffekt mit sich gebracht.
      Ich habe übrigens irgendwo gelesen, dass der Tag aufgrund irgendwelcher Verschiebungen im All immer länger wird. Allerdings macht das wohl nur ein paar Millisekunden auf’s Jahr oder noch weniger… 😦 Mist!

Kommentar verfassen

