RFTS Day 26 – only 4 days left…


Oh, I really don’t want it to end… Although I had trouble getting up today in the morning, the run was really the best part of the whole day, which turned out to be quite ugly towards the end. I just give you a few keywords:

  • jam
  • stupid phone not cooperative
  • garage closing early because of the soccer game
  • jam
  • rental car doesn’t like to go fast
  • another jam
  • a HUGE repair-bill for my car
  • exhausted and broke…

But, hey, „we“ won! And now Germany’s in the last sixteen!

Where was I…? Oh yeah, back to the run!

It was really really shivering COLD this morning. 6°C. It’s summer, for heaven’s sake! I had to put on a long tight, a nice and thick running sweater and two buffs. One around the neck, the other one to cover my ears. I should have taken gloves, too, but I forgot them. The sweater had really long sleeves, so I could cover my hands partly at least.

Bild

If you look closely enough, you can see the mist rising from the pond, I love it!

Yesterday, I cracked the 100-mile-mark. Today, it’s 175,81 km for the month of June. I can’t believe, that there are people out there, who cover that kind of distance in 24 hours and less. How on earth do they do this? I’d love to do an ultra some day, but that’s still a long way to go! I’m thinking about my first marathon in about a year and a half, and then we shall see, but 100 miles? That’s crazy!

I bow deeply before those achievements.

On my course, I met the pug-dog-man. He’s a really nice elderly gentleman who has a whole family of pugs. They are so cute! Not my favourite kind of dog, but cute in their own way.

Later, there was a lady walking an incredibly small dog. What was more interesting, was the lady’s perfume which lingered in the air even 200 m behind her. She left a perfume-trail all around the pond. I’m quite sensitive to smells while running, and I’m not a huge fan of perfume. This stuff was the real deal. It stood faithfully on the path, marking its owners passage and territory. Phew!

Tomorrow will be challenging because I still don’t know, how to get my run in.

IF I’m lucky, I can stop working at 11:20, drive the 70 km home and get back to work at 3pm, which would give me a three-hour-break at home. Enough to get a run in and some rest.

But if someone gets ill by tomorrow and I have to stay for another hour at work, it wouldn’t be worth the time and effort of driving home.

So I guess, I’ll simply take my running gear with me to work and see how things work out. Gotta organize a key from one of my PE-colleagues so that I can have a shower afterwards.

In any case, I don’t think that I’ll come home long enough before midnight to do my run.

I’ll let you know who things turned out. Not sure whether I’ll be able to write something tomorrow, though.

Keep on running!

6 Kommentare zu “RFTS Day 26 – only 4 days left…

  1. Ich hasse Parfum… nein, das stimmt nicht ganz. Aber ich hasse es, wenn es so aufdringlich ist. Uah. Irre, dass Du das die ganze Zeit durchhälst und die Kilometeranzahl ist wirklich bemerkenswert.

  2. Ja so ist das mit dem Laufen, erst denkt man, das geht gar gaaar nicht, und plötzlich sind 175 km da. Ich würde auch nicht die lange Strecke heim fahren, wenn so wenig Zeit ist. Und um Marathon mache ich mir bei Dir keine Sorgen, mit dem Durchhaltewillen! Wo planst Du den denn?
    Ach ja, und soviel Parfum in freier Natur – igitt! Ein zarter Hauch um die Person herum ist ja durchaus schön.
    Liebe Grüße
    Elke

    • Mit dem Marathon bin ich mir noch nicht ganz sicher. Ich will auf keinen Fall die volle Strecke in Freiburg machen, denn ich glaube einmal am Ziel vorbei laufen ist ganz schlecht für die Motivation. Eventuell Tuttlingen, wo ich mir die Strecke jetzt bei der Staffel gerne angeschaut hätte, oder aber Bräunlingen, was sicherlich landschaftlich am schönsten ist, allerdings ca. 20 km bergauf und dann ca. 20 km bergab geht. Jetzt muss ich erst mal wieder gesund werden, um mir darüber Gedanken zu machen. Auf jeden Fall lieber auf dem Land als in der City.

      • Stimmt, einen Marathon abbrechen müssen ist übel für die Motivation. Ein Kollege musste das mal. Er lief früher Mittelstrecke, richtig gut, ging den Marathon zu schnell an, und musste aufgeben. Er ist NIE mehr angetreten.
        Wenn ich Dir einen Rat geben darf: Such Dir einen Lauf danach aus, dass er flach ist. 42 km sind lang genug, da sollte der erste Lauf nicht gleich bergauf und -ab gehen. Cityläufe -muss ja kein ganz großer sein- haben den Vorteil, dass man sich von den Läufern um einen herum mitziehen lassen kann. Aber das ist Naturellsache, wenn Du lieber eher für Dich sein willst beim laufen, wäre eine kleine Veranstaltung natürlich besser für Dich.
        Aber jetzt erstmal gute BesserunG!
        Liebe Grüße
        Elke

      • In Freiburg läuft man 2 HM-Runden. Das meinte ich mit „am Ziel vorbeilaufen“. Ich tendiere eher zu einem Landschaftslauf. Schonender für die Knochen. 🙂

Kommentar verfassen

