RFTS Day 6 – rain, please!


We got up early today because we wanted to work on the greenhouse, but it was already quite hot at 7 a.m. We abandoned the project very quickly, not because of the heat, but because of the hard soil and inadequate tools. I had to go to the DYS-Store, and when I got back, the sun was already out and working hard. But there were thunderstorms announced in the afternoon, so I decided to wait for some refreshing water from the sky to get my run in.

Around 3 pm, the sky clouded over, and there was indeed a very small thunderstorm. Perhaps it was the great-great-grandson of a real thunderstorm. But it had water, and it had clouds and the temperature got to a point where I could think about running. Of course, I don’t run in an actual thunderstorm. At 5 p.m., no more thunder but a nice rain. Perfect!

I put on my running-gear, shoes, a cap on the head and left the house, looking forward to a nice run in the rain. But no. The minute I left the house, the rain stopped, and it didn’t start again. Now, it was hot AND humid. Well…

I had to walk a lot today to keep my heart rate from going to far up. And when I didn’t walk, I ran very, very slowly. But it felt good to be outside and going!

From time to time, I shook the branches of trees or some bushes, to get a little shower. That felt soooo good.!

HohenkarpfenA man walking his dog looked a little concerned when he saw me taking a tree-shower. But what does he know about the joys of outdoor running?

I saw a hare. It was simply huge. I would have loved to take a picture, but as it is the nature of hares, it didn’t want to wait and pose. It bounded off into the fields.

Today’s run adds another 16.2 km for the Run for the Sun. That doesn’t put me even close to the leaderboard, but I don’t care. It’s all about the fun!

By the way, guys, I would really very much appreciate, if you left a comment on my blog and let me know how you’re doing and what you think. Feel free to write in German, English, French or Italian (simple Italian please… 😉 )

4 Kommentare zu “RFTS Day 6 – rain, please!

  1. Tag 6 schon – fleissig, fleissig. Schon eigentlich absurd, dass es der Run for the Sun ist und dann auf der Nordhalbkugel Sommer ist und man sich nichts sehnlicher als Wolken, Schatten und Regen wünscht. Aber so ist das halt – nichts wird einem geschenkt als streakende Läuferin 😉
    Trainierst du streng nach Herzfrequenz? (Abgesehen davon, dass ich noch keinen Gurt gefunden habe, der nicht nach einiger Zeit Fantasiewerte aufzeichnet – ich hochrot, japsend, Puls angeblich 80 haha, stelle ich mir das recht Laufrythmus störend vor.)

    • Hurra! Ein Kommentar! Danke! Ich dachte schon, niemand mag mich mehr… 😕
      Ja , ist schon komisch, wenn der Sommer da ist, dann wird auch gejammert, allerdings kam er sehr plötzlich.
      Die Herzfrequenz ist für mich eine ganz gute Orientierung. Es ist ok, wenn es mal kurzzeitig über die gewählte Grenze rausgeht, aber wenn ich noch einen Haufen Strecke vor mir hab, und der Puls ist zu Beginn schon im oberen Belastungsbereich, dann trete ich auf die Bremsen. Vor allem bei Hitze. Hört sich für mich so an, als würde dein Brustgurt nicht richtig sitzen. Manche Leute müssen den Sender etwas seitlich oder sogar auf dem Rücken tragen.

      • Ich glaube ich entwickele mich zur Wochenendbloggerin…aber dann finde ich noch Zeit zum kommentieren. Und ja der Brustgurt sitzt nie richtig, weil da wo er sitzen sollte ja schon ein BH sitzt…

  2. Heute, am 8. Tag gibt’s Regen! Die ganze Woche sieht eigentlich gut aus. Mir macht’s momentan Riesenspaß, werde mich aber auch nicht mit den anderen messen: Mir reicht’s auch, nur 2 oder 3 Kilometer zu laufen. Die Herausforderung ist tatsächlich nur, jeden Tag zu laufen! Viel Spaß weiterhin!

Kommentar verfassen

